Five Young Adult Novels For Winter Break

It’s the last day of Book Rec Week!  (I bet you didn’t even know I called it that.  I know how to forget what I called a week of posts!)  I’m so excited to bring you my last recommendations, five young adult novels.  And don’t give me any of that “I’m an adult, I can’t read a teen book” nonsense, because you totally can.

Winter Break Book Recommendations

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children | Ransom Riggs

This is one of the weirdest books I’ve ever read. But it’s so great, and it’s the first of a trilogy. The second book, Hollow City, came out in 2012, and the third is set to come out in 2015. It follows Jacob, a teenager from Florida, who discovers his grandfather dying in the woods, and suffers an apparent nervous breakdown. Then, he and his father go on a trip to Wales for a few weeks, and everything changes. Jacob discovers the children’s home where grandfather lived as a teen during World War II, and that just maybe the other children he grew up with are still there, hidden from the rest of the world.

 

We Were Liars | E Lockhart

Oh my god, this book. I read it in less than 24 hours, and it’s incredible. I made a video about it here, and you can watch that for my reaction closer to the time I read it. We Were Liars tells the story of a teenage girl, Cadence, who goes to spend the summer with her grandfather, her aunts, and her cousins on the family’s New England private island. But all is not as it seems and there are mysteries lurking beneath the pristine surface of the family’s life, and Cadence needs to know them. When you read it, don’t read the last 50 pages in public. And if anyone asks you what it’s about, just lie.

 

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks | E. Lockhart

I read this after I read We Were Liars simply because it was by E. Lockhart and it looked good. I was not disappointed. Frankie is a brilliant girl going to an elite boarding school. She has it all, good grades, good friends, hot boyfriend, and inspiring classes. Then, she discovers her boyfriend is a part of an all-male secret society, and that infuriates her. You see, Frankie is a young feminist, just discovering how divided the world can be. So she sets out to prove that she’s smarter than all of them, and she just might be. There are some truly epic pranks, a lot of mystery, and an incredibly cool protagonist. Frankie is one of my favorite protagonists of all time.

Books

The Lovely Bones | Alice Sebold

This book is amazing. I actually haven’t seen the movie, because the book is so amazing. (Sidenote: have you seen the movie? Does it do the book justice? Tell me in the comments). I read it at about 12 or 13, and I still think about it all the time. The story follows Susie Salmon from the moments before she’s murdered into the afterlife, where she watches her family for decades. Her family doesn’t know who killed her, and we see them struggle with her loss, searching for her killer. We watch her younger sister grow into a woman Susie is intensely proud of; we see her parents face the loss of their daughter, and struggle to keep their family together. It’s a very intense book, and I recommend it highly.

 

The Perks of Being A Wallflower | Stephen Chbosky

This is one of my favorite books. I might go so far as to call it my favorite book. It’s an epistolary novel, told in the form of letters he’s writing to this anonymous friend of a friend explaining all that’s happened during his freshman year of high school. And believe me, Charlie’s year was interesting. He starts out with no friends, but by the end of the first few weeks, he’s found himself absorbed into this group of seniors. Charlie is also totally in love with one of them: Sam. But Sam is dating an older boy, and Charlie dates another friend, and that ends badly for everyone. There is also a secret trauma in Charlie’s past that comes to light after a while. This is a wonderful, amazing book. Everyone needs to read it.

 

Those are my final winter break book recommendations for you. For more, check out the rest of the week here.  Have a wonderful break, a great holiday whichever holiday you celebrate, and in the comments tell me your book recommendations.

Leave a Reply

