Four Serious Mysteries for Winter Break

Again, I know it’s late.  I have a post coming up about how crazy my life has been lately, so stay tuned.  These are pretty heavy, so I’ve only got four of them for you, and two of those are just the series names.

Winter Break Book Recommendations

Two Little Girls in Blue | Mary Higgins Clark

I read this book in about 12 hours. Probably less than that, actually. It’s incredible, and I think everyone should read it. The book tells the story of twin toddlers Kathy and Kelly, who get kidnapped. When the parents pay the ransom and find the kidnapper dead of an apparent self-inflicted gun shot, they think it’s over. But only one daughter – Kelly – is in the back seat, and the kidnapper’s suicide note tells the parents’ worst nightmare: the other daughter is dead. But a few days later at Kathy’s memorial, Kelly turns to her mother and says “Mommy, Kathy is very scared of that lady. She wants to come home right now.” That launches their mother – and soon everyone around them – into a desperate search for Kathy. This was terrifying, and intense, and I could barely put it down. It probably helped that I had a long flight ahead of me.

Scarpetta Mysteries | Patricia Cornwell

These books are some of the best mysteries I’ve ever read. They follow Dr. Kay Scarpetta, chief medical examiner, from one case to the next. You could pick up any one of them and have an amazing story to read, but I’m going with Black Notice. It was published the year I was born, and that’s part of the 2015 Reading Challenge from PopSugar. Just wait for New Year’s Prep Week and we can talk about that.

Serious Myseries

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo | Stieg Larsson

If you haven’t read this yet, even if you’ve seen the movie, go read it. Especially if you’re a woman. This is the book that really cemented for me the fact that not only did I need to be a feminist, I needed to fight for women the world over. This follows Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist as they try to identify the killer in a 40 year old murder. It’s incredible, and there is so much more than just one murder. This is also the first of a trilogy which follows Lisbeth over the next couple of years, and the rest of the trilogy is just as good as the first book.

Women’s Murder Club | James Patterson

I’ve read the first 7 or so of these. There are now 13. I picked up another one at the library book sale back in August, and I can’t wait to read it. These follow the Women’s Murder Club, a group of four, then five, women in San Francisco who are all involved in the murder solving business. Lindsay is a cop, Claire is a medical examiner, Jill is a district attorney, Cindy is a journalist, and Yuki is a defense attorney. These are so good, and they’re so fascinating. Read them.

Tomorrow is the last day of these posts, so watch this space.

Leave a Reply

