Scorch Marks | Poetry

This morning, I shared a spoken word poem on my YouTube channel called Scorch Marks.  I wrote it to be read aloud, but I think it can stand on its own two feet as a written word poem.  You can watch me perform it here.  Sharing a spoken word poem on my YouTube channel was one of my Revised 25 By 25 goals.

I want to paint my name in the sky

The clouds as brushes for my artist’s eye

I want to be a constellation,

Connect the dots of the stars above,

Be the star of legends for generations.

I want to scorch the earth

Leave fires burning in my wake.

I want to see the bottom of every ocean,

And make sure burns aren’t the only marks I make.

One thought on “Scorch Marks | Poetry

  1. Pingback: Interesting Reads | Jeanni Out of the Bottle

Leave a Reply

