Satiated Saturday: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

When I was a kid I didn’t come home to mom making cookies.  When we made cookies together they were from a package.  I didn’t even encounter homemade cookies until high school, when my friend’s mom taught me to make chocolate chip cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies copy

As much as I like chocolate chip cookies, I later discovered oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and a new love affair began.  The oats change the texture so completely that it’s a different type of cookie.  I’ve finally found a recipe to make them from scratch, and I’m going to share it with you.

The recipe is adapted from a recipe in the book What’s Cooking Baking.  I never use recipes as they’re printed, so I had to change some things.  Here’s the recipe as I used it.

 

4 tbsp butter, melted (approximately)

½ cup granulated white sugar

1 egg, beaten

½ cup flour (I used wheat, but you could use white or all-purpose)

pinch of salt

½ tsp baking powder

1 cup oats (I used instant rolled oats)

chocolate chips to your heart’s content

optional: raisins, craisins, or other dried fruit

Everyone’s preference for how many chocolate chips they want is different, so I always leave that bit open to interpretation.  I used about half a bag when I made plain oat-chocolate chip cookies.  When I used craisins I added about ¼ bag of chocolate chips, and about the same amount of craisins.  You could probably put in whatever kind of dried fruit you want.

 

Before you do anything, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  You probably also ought to grease your cookie sheets.  Don’t worry, I’ll remind you again later.

 

First, you want to melt your butter.  You could soften it, but I always melt it.  Then, in a medium sized bowl, add your sugar and cream them together.  If you like the flavor you could even add some brown sugar in place of some granulated white sugar.  I don’t like the taste, so my cookies are brown sugar free.  Mix them until it’s creamy and light.

 

In a separate bowl/cup beat your egg.  Beat it like it tried to kick your dog or pee in your cornflakes.  Once you’ve beaten it into submissions, assert your dominance by pouring it gradually into your creamed butter/sugar mixture.  Then beat it again.  Just for good measure.  (Also to make sure it’s well incorporated).

Beat the egg like it’s this guy! via

Add the rest of your dry ingredients (flour, oats, salt, baking powder) and mix together.  Before it’s completely mixed, add chocolate chips and dried fruit.  Start with half a cup of oats and go from there.  Every mixture is going to be slightly different, so if yours seems well oated at ¾ cup, that’s fine.  I used wheat flour because that’s what we had at hand, but regular all-purpose would probably be a little better taste-wise.  I’m also very sensitive to the taste of flour, so it’s going to be different if you’re not.  (I said this to my friend Hannah once who’s got celiac disease, and she turned it around on me with “Yeah, me too.”  I miss her).

 

As far as dropping the cookies, I use a small melon baller/ice cream scoop.  It takes a bit less than ¼ cup of dough.  Before you drop any cookies, make sure you grease your cookie sheets.  If you don’t grease them you’ll have to wrestle them off the cookie sheet like Hercules wrestled the Nemean lion.  So grease your cookie sheets.

Hercules and the Nemean Lion via

Make sure you leave enough space between them for the cookies to spread out.  Bake them for about 15 minutes, but check them at 13 and remember that they’ll keep cooking a bit after you take them out.  This makes about a dozen and a half cookies.  Let them cool, and then nom at will.

Yum

These were a big hit at my library’s luncheon recognizing the former director (who worked at our library for 40 years!) with all the volunteers and library staff.  They were also a hit with my family, who ate pretty much all of them within a week.  If you make some, tweet me a picture!

Leave a Reply

