YouTube (or Where I’ve Been)

I’ve been experiencing some burnout. Trying to find a post-grad job has caused me some ups and downs, and I’ve severely neglected this blog. Creatively, I’ve been having a hard time finding inspiration to write posts. So I’ve taken an unintentional hiatus. During this unintentional hiatus, I found my creative mojo flowing in a totally different direction: videos. I noticed something, while spending endless hours on my computer writing cover letters, scheduling interviews and applying to grad school (and if I’m honest, going through YouTube videos): there were plenty of science shows online, but not much about the humanities.

As someone who wants to be a teacher, this was distressing. Let me explain. My fundamental belief is that everyone deserves broad and easily attainable access to education. I love reading a good history article as much as the next nerd, but I also find that videos are more approachable and reach a broader audience. Historical articles are harder to find than YouTube videos, and they’re often written in academic language. More than that, brief introductions to topics are very hard to find that aren’t from Wikipedia, and we all know the problem there.

So I started making my own. I decided that if no one else would do it, I would. I have a degree in history, I know how to do research, I know how to write. The thing I didn’t know was how to make YouTube videos. But luckily a perfect storm of things happened. Several YouTubers I like and respect made videos with advice for new YouTubers, and I stumbled upon an entire Pinterest board devoted to such tips. In the past three months on YouTube, I’ve learned while doing, which in my opinion is the best way to learn.

I’ve posted a few of these videos in posts in the past, but I never really introduced it as a new venture. Well, now I am. YouTube is a lot of fun. It’s a good way to make lessons in an easily accessible format. Writing the scripts is also great practice for writing lesson plans.

That’s the other thing I’ve been up to. I got into grad school. Come fall, I’ll be attending online classes from Southeast Missouri State University in their Secondary Education program. Within this program you can have a focus, and I chose education and technology. Fitting, considering my online endeavors.

I hope you’ll all take this ride with me, and check out my channel. You can find it here. (And yes, I am continuing Satiated Saturday. For a while there, I just wasn’t very satiated).

Leave a Reply

