Satiated Saturday: Roasted Almonds

So, I recently received some raw almonds.  Anyone who’s ever tried plain almonds knows they are…not very good.  To say the least.  But here I was with almost a pound of raw almonds on the dining room table.  So this morning I googled around and found this tutorial.

Roasted Almonds Satiated Saturday

I thought roasting my own almonds would be a long, arduous process.  It wasn’t.  Just preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Spread your almonds on a cookie sheet in a single layer.  I had 10 ounces, but I only used about half.  Once the oven is preheated, pop the almond tray in, set the timer for fifteen minutes, and go about your business.  I re-organized my fridge.  (It was really messy, and gross).  After about five minutes you can smell the almonds.  The whole house will smell sweet and a little bit nutty.  When the timer goes off, pull them out.  Let them cool a minute or two.

When they’ve cooled a little, drop them into a bowl, shake some salt over them, and toss.  Et voila!  Roasted, salted almonds!  Nom at will.

I was a little leary of trying this since I’d never done anything like it before, but it came out delicious.  My mom and I have been eating them nonstop.  Super simple, super quick, and super delicious.  Plus, you can control just how much salt is on each almond.

One thought on “Satiated Saturday: Roasted Almonds

  1. Pingback: Satiated Saturday: Vegetarian Thanksgiving Roundup | Jeanni Out of the Bottle

Leave a Reply

