Graduating

I’m sure I’ll write a much more in depth post about graduating in a week or two, but as of right now I just want to post a few things that are helping me get through this semester, my final semester.  That’s right, I’m graduating a semester early.  I’m still not sure if it’s really a good decision, but I’ve made it.  So here’s what keeps helping me survive it.


This song is amazing.  I found it through the Vlogbrothers, as many people did, and it just came at the right moment for me when I felt like I wouldn’t make it through this year.  But I am.

This is one of my favorite lyrics from Florence + The Machine, and it’s so true.  Every bad thing comes to an end, there will always be a sunrise.  Even when it feels like I can’t get through whatever struggle I’m going through, I look at this picture (I have it pinned onto my little corkboard over my bed) and it reminds me of all the dawns to come.

Starry Night Over The Rhone by Vincent Van Gogh

This is my favorite painting by my favorite artist Vincent Van Gogh.  One day, I’m going to buy a high-quality print of it and have it hanging in my bedroom.  For now, I just have it pinned onto my Inspire Me pinboard.

In fact, let me just talk about Pinterest in general.  It’s the greatest stress reliever for me.  I get so stressed I want to cry, then I go to pinterest and look for motivational quotes and beautiful pictures and such.  I pin new traditions I want to start for the holidays.  I pin new colors and styles I want to try for my hair.  I find new, cool, vegetarian recipes.  It’s a great escape.

1470188_10202544724483145_1984705258_nBeing with my Brothers.  When I feel like the world is ending, I go find the people I love, and I demand hugs.  It works.

When all else fails, I go to the bathroom, cry it out a little bit, wipe my face, and bake some brownies.

“Life will hit you hard in the face, wait for you to get back up just so it can kick you in the stomach. But getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.”
― Sarah Kay

For anyone else graduating this semester (or even next semester) we can do this.  I have faith in you.  Anticipate the problems ahead, and then eat them for breakfast.

(I keep adding to this, but it’s always good things.  Watch this space.)

Leave a Reply

